Erasmus Mundus Master Course in Economic Development and Growth-MEDEG

Country: Europe;

Deadline: 30.11.2010



The Erasmus Mundus Master Course in Economic Development and Growth-MEDEG is a full-time masters programme organized by a consortium including three top-class European Universities:

1. Universidad Carlos III Madrid - Spain (coordinating institution)
2. University of Warwick – United Kingdom
3. University of Lund - Sweden

MEDEG lasts two academic years, includes 120 ECTS (60 ECTS/year), and consists of 14 or 16 course modules (depending on the two different mobility schemes available) delivered through a combination of lectures, classes, tutorials and essay writing with individual supervisors. Another key component of the programme are a 8.000-word research dissertations to be written at the end of the first year and a 15.000-word dissertation to be written at the of the second year, on subjects chosen by students in consultation with supervisors.

Students are mandatorily required to study in two different universities of the consortium. In each university, they have to remain for one year and complete 60 ECTS. More specifically, the possible combinations are:

(A) Warwick (1st year) – Lund (2nd year)
(B) Carlos III Madrid (1st year) – Lund (2nd year)

MEDEG students can choose to spend their first year either at the University of Warwick (Option A) or at Universidad Carlos III Madrid (Option B). Warwick targets English-speaking students oriented towards research on economic development and growth at academic level. Carlos III Madrid targets Spanish-speaking students wanting either to pursue a professional career as development economists at governmental agencies and international organizations or to carry out research in development economics and economic history at academic level.


Students applying both for admission to the Master AND for Erasmus Mundus scholarships:

* First deadline: 30th of November 2010 for students from Third Countries
* Second deadline: 15 of January 2011 for students from European countries

Students who apply only for admission to the Master and do not want to apply to Erasmus Mundus scholarships, can apply at any time before 30th of June, 2011.

Submissions should be sent to the following address:

Information source: