The Georg Arnhold Program, Germany

Country: Germany;

Deadline: 04.10.2013



Scholarship / Financial aid: A monthly stipend of up to 6,500 euro+roundtrip airfare

Date: 3-6 months

Deadline: October 4, 2013

Open to: scholars from the humanities, political and social sciences, education sciences or law

The Georg Arnhold Program aims to promote research into education for sustainable peace. Its focus lies particularly on educational media and curricula in post-conflict or transitional societies, although Western democracies are obviously also called upon to develop new concepts to maintain and to stabilize peace within society. The program responds to the rising demand for grassroots approaches, as well as those that are sustainable and regionally-sensitive, to establishing or strengthening cultures of peace and sustainable development - key challenges for present and future generations.

The American benefactor Henry H. Arnhold instituted the guest professorship at the Georg Eckert Institute to honor the legacy of his grandfather, Georg Arnhold (1859-1926) who was a German banker, patron of the arts and committed pacifist.

The annual appointment is for three to six months and offers distinguished scholars from the humanities, political and social sciences, education sciences or law the opportunity to conduct research projects or complete work on major publications without teaching or administrative obligations. The visiting professor is, however, expected to participate in a one-week international summer school for young scholars and to develop the concept for the international Arnhold Symposium to be held at the end of his or her stay. The program’s coordinator at the Georg Eckert Institute will carry out the organization of both events.

The Professorship is endowed with

+A monthly stipend of up to 6,500 euro for a three- to six-month research stay in Braunschweig,
+Round-trip economy airfare to Germany, and 
+Administrative support provided by the program coordinator.

The application deadline for the 2014/2015 fellowship year is October 4, 2013.


Information source: